- Departments & Offices
- Vehicle / Vessel Licensing
Vehicle / Vessel Licensing
The Island County Auditor Licensing Office will be closed on Friday, May 26, 2023. You can visit our Freeland or Oak Harbor offices if you need immediate assistance, or visit us on Tuesday, May 30th. We apologize for any inconvenience.
The Island County Auditor's Office will process vehicle / vessel titles from 8 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday. If these hours are not workable, vehicle / vessel titles can be done at Oak Harbor Motors 8:30 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday or at Island Insurance in Freeland, 9 am to 4:30 pm, Tuesday through Friday and 9 am to noon Saturday.
You may renew your registration online or go to your local vehicle/vessel licensing office in Oak Harbor, Freeland or Camano Island to ensure timely renewal. We urge you not to delay your vehicle or vessel renewal.
The Island County Auditor's Office is responsible for providing vehicle and vessel license services. We also have three subagencies appointed to provide all vehicle and vessel licensing services.
Please note: vehicle and vessel owners applying for a new title will need to allow six to eight weeks from the date the application was processed to receive the new Certificate of Title in the mail.
The Island County Auditor's Office will issue Quick Titles from 9 am to noon, Monday through Friday. If these hours are not workable, Quick Titles can also be done at Snohomish County. There is an additional $50 added to the normal titling fees collected.
Subagent Locations & Hours
Oak Harbor Motors
75 SE. Pioneer Way, Oak Harbor
8:30 am to 4:30 pm (open during lunch) Monday through Friday
Island Insurance Associates
1504 State Highway 525, Freeland
9 am to 4:30 pm (open during lunch) Tuesday through Friday, and 9 am to 1 pm. Saturdays
Camano Island Licensing
811 N Sunrise Boulevard, Camano Island (located within Camano Properties)
9 am to 5 pm (closed for lunch 12:30-1:30) Monday through Friday, and 8 am to noon Saturdays
Renewing vehicle tabs and changing your address over the Internet is:
Seller's Report of Sale
Seller reports of sale may be brought into any licensing agent and processed for a $13.25 fee. The vehicle record will be coded with a report of sale flag immediately. Vehicle reports of sale may still be mailed to Olympia at no fee, but the record will not be flagged as sold for approximately one to two weeks. Vehicle reports of sale may also be processed online.
Washington State Patrol Vehicle Inspections
360-658-2588, ext. 13137
|Monday, Wednesday and Friday|
Tuesdays (1st and 3rd only)
|10 am to 4:30 pm|
|Bellingham||Thursday||8 am to 3:30 pm|
- What documents are required to transfer a Washington title due to purchase or gift?
If you have purchased a Washington state-titled vehicle or received one as a gift, you are required to transfer the title within 15 days. After 15 days, a monetary penalty will be assessed. You need to take the following documents to your local license agency: the current title with the signatures of the previous owners releasing interest; a bill of sale stating the full purchase price or statement of a gift signed by the previous owner, and a completed odometer disclosure statement if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. If this is a gift, you will also need to provide proof of sales tax paid by the previous owner.
The cost to transfer a title is $42 plus 9.0% use tax, if applicable. Use tax is not charged on gift transactions if the sale / use tax has already been paid by the donor.
- What documents are required to license a vehicle in Washington from out of state?
If you are a new resident to Washington state or purchased a vehicle from another state, you must present the following documents to a license agency in order to obtain Washington plates, registration and title: the out-of-state title in your name or properly released by the previous owner (if you are still making payments on the vehicle and a legal owner is holding the title, you will need a photocopy or faxed copy of your title), a bill of sale stating the full purchase price signed by the previous owner if the title is not in your name and a completed odometer statement if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. You will also need to have a Washington state driver's license unless you fit the exempt criteria.