Lodging Tax Advisory Committee

2024 Island County 2% Hotel-Motel Tourism Lodging Tax Application

Committee Meetings

  • The Lodging Tax Advisory Committee meets as needed.
  • Commissioners' Hearing Room, B-102, Coupeville Annex
  • 1 N.E. 6th Street, Coupeville, WA 98239

Representatives of Businesses Subject to the Tax

  • Tom Felvey, South Whidbey representative. Term expires Feb. 14, 2027
  • Vacancy, Central Whidbey representative.
  • Barry Wenaas, North Whidbey representative. Term expires Jan. 18, 2025

Representatives of Organizations Eligible to Receive the Tax Fund

  • Bob Chalfant, Camano Island representative. Term expires Nov. 10, 2023
  • Mike Ferri, a representative at large. Term expires Sept. 15, 2023
  • Melanie Serroels, a representative at large. Term expires Sept. 15, 2024

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Previously known as the 2% Special Excise Tax Committee, the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee (LTAC) was re-established in accordance with statutory amendments of HB2698 enacted in Island County by the adoption of Resolution Number C-156-98 Dec. 14, 1998, and codified as ICC 3.06.060, for the purpose of review and recommendation to the Board of County Commissioners on the distribution of monies generated by the Lodging Excise Tax. In order to create a more effective and efficient process, the board determined the committee’s membership should be restructured from 13 members to seven members. The Board of County Commissioners adopted Ordinance No. C-81-10 on Oct. 4, 2010.

Committee Membership

The committee shall consist of three members representing the businesses required to collect the tax, three members involved in authorized activities receiving revenues and a Board of Island County Commissioners member. The board will review committee membership annually and make changes as appropriate. The committee meets once annually, usually in the fall.